Marlan Downey 1931-2017

Three ARCO Alums elected to SEG Board Featured

Sep 20 2017 Be the first to comment!

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) announced results of its 2017-2018 Board of Directors election. Robert R. Stewart, who has been a member of the Society for more than 30 years, will serve as President-Elect for 2017-2018. Following his one-year term as President-Elect, Stewart will assume the office of SEG President. Former ARCO employees Bob Brook and Kenneth M. Tubman will serve as Directors at Large.

The Society’s annual conference is in Houston September 24-29. After much communication with those affected by Hurricane Harvey, the Society decided to hold the Exposition as scheduled. The SEG Annual Meeting will be the first large conference to take place in Houston following Hurricane Harvey. The Society is developing plans to bring geophysicists and their expertise to local, state, and federal efforts to repair compromised infrastructure, including roads, bridges, overpasses, and dams. The Annual Meeting provides an opportunity to focus many of the brightest minds in the geosciences on the restoration of Houston. The message from the Annual Meeting Chair shares more about how Houston is ready for business.

Rob worked at ARCO as a graduate student intern during the summer of 1981 and summer & fall of 1982. He shares that it was a wonderful experience. “I’ve always thought that ARCO had so many things going right with the lab and processing center in Plano. Jim DiSiena and Jim Gaiser were my colleagues and we’ve been friends ever since. Rob is currently the Cullen Chair in Exploration Geophysics and Director of the Allied Geophysical lab at the University of Houston.

Bob Brook has been a member of SEG for 37 years. Bob was at ARCO after starting his career in Saudi Arabia at GSI. Bob has an entrepreneurial spirit, and he cofounded Zone Oil and Gas in 2007 and after the sale of Zone in 2011, he cofounded Salamanca Energy. His current company, Lexden Energy, provides advisory services to technology and production companies.

Kenneth Tubman is vice president, subsurface, for ConocoPhillips. Ken started his career with ARCO, where he held positions in the technology company before moving to the exploration organization in Anchorage.

Below in order left to right are: Robert Stewart, Bob Brook and Kenneth Tubman.

robert stewart sq 200   bob brook sq 200     kenneth tubman sq 200

About the Society of Exploration Geophysicists

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists is a not-for-profit organization committed to connecting the world of applied geophysics. With more than 27,000 members in 128 countries, SEG provides educational and technical resources to the global geosciences community through publications, books, events, forums, professional development courses, young professional programs, and more. Founded in 1930, SEG fosters the expert and ethical practice of geophysics in the exploration and development of natural resources, characterization of near surface, and mitigation of earth hazards. For more information visit

Read 110 times
More in this category: « In Memoriam: James Howard

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.